We believe that access to information has the power to enrich the lives of all the people of Wisconsin; therefore, we will work towards the free and open availability of Wisconsin’s cultural heritage collections.
Recollection Wisconsin Service Hub Charter, adopted November 2016

Recollection Wisconsin is a consortium administered by WiLS and managed by six Governing Partners: Wisconsin Historical Society, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Milwaukee Public Library and Marquette University. Each Governing Partner makes a substantive, ongoing contribution of staff time, expertise, technology infrastructure or other resources to help sustain program operations.

Governing Board

Each Recollection Wisconsin Governing Partner appoints one representative to the Governing Board. The Board reviews and monitors the program’s budget and policies and establishes committees and work groups as needed.

Governing Board members:

  • Matthew Blessing
    State Archivist and Administrator of the Division of Library, Archives and Museum Collections, Wisconsin Historical Society
  • John DeBacher
    Director, Public Library Development, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • Ann Hanlon
    Head, Digital Collections and Initiatives, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Lee Konrad
    Associate University Librarian for Technology Strategies and Data Services and Director, Digital Library Services, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Scott Mandernack (2018-2019 chair)
    Associate Dean for Scholarly Resources and Collections, Marquette University
  • Judith Pinger
    Assistant Library Director – Information Technology, Milwaukee Public Library

Governing Board meeting minutes:
May 10, 2019
February 8, 2019
November 2, 2018
August 3, 2018
May 11, 2018
February 2, 2018
November 3, 2017
August 11, 2017
May 5, 2017
February 3, 2017
November 4, 2016
July 22, 2016
May 6, 2016
January 22, 2016
October 16, 2015
July 2, 2015
April 2, 2015

Alumni Governing Board members:

  • Ryan Claringbole
  • Cathy Markwiese
  • Stefanie Morrill

Steering Committee

The Recollection Wisconsin Service Hub Steering Committee represents a broad range of Content Partners and other cultural heritage institutions throughout Wisconsin. The Committee facilitates and supports a statewide community of practice around digital cultural heritage and provides advice and recommendations to the Governing Board.

Each Governing Partner may choose to appoint one representative to the Steering Committee. The remaining seats are populated by nomination from the community.

Steering Committee Statement of Purpose

Steering Committee members:

  • Scott Brouwer, Archivist, La Crosse Public Library
  • Amy Cooper Cary, Head, Special Collections and University Archives, Marquette University
  • Briana Fiandt, Curator of Collections, Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center
  • Peter Gorman, Assistant Director for Digital Library and Preservation Strategy, UW-Madison
  • Paul Hedges, Emerging Technologies Archivist, Wisconsin Historical Society
  • Joe Hermolin, President, Langlade County Historical Society
  • Nathan Humpal, Catalog and Metadata Librarian, UW-Milwaukee
  • Bethany Huse, Librarian, College of Menominee Nation
  • Catherine Markwiese, Metadata Librarian, Milwaukee Public Library
  • Gail Murray (2018-2019 chair), WISCAT Technical Coordinator, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

In addition to the board and committee members listed above, many thanks go to the following individuals for their work to plan, implement or plant the seeds of the Recollection Wisconsin Service Hub:
Natasha Allen, Jody Bembinster, Martha Berninger, Rick Bernstein, Marcy Bidney, Kendra Bouda, Debbie Cardinal, Kevin Cingatura, Andi Coffin, Jonathan Cooper, Maria Cunningham-Benn, Margaret Durow, Michael Edmonds, Rose Fortier, Amy Gauthier, Emily Gore, Gretchen Gueguen, Erika Janik, Elisabeth Kaune, David Kwasny, Jim Liedeka, Kris McDaniel, Melissa McLimans, David Mindel, Nicolette Meister, Abigail Nye, Cat Phan, Amy Rudersdorf, Dorothea Salo, Bradley Shipps, Hannah Stitzlein, Lynn Whittenberger